iTunes 9: “Genre-Artist-Album” panes restored

iTunes 9 with 3 panesWhat I loved about iTunes is the three pane “Genre-Artist-Album” on top of my music list. It allowed me to quickly go through my music and find that great Anouk album I was looking for. After installing iTunes 9, it was gone. And I was sad. But I found a way to get it back.

Settings to get the panes back

Look at this screenshot (sorry, it’s in Dutch). In iTunes, select “View”, “Show Column Browser”. Now, put it on top by selecting “View”, “Column Browser”, “Top”. Voila, your trusted browser is at the top. You may need to add “Genre” and “Album” there, but you’ve already seen the options for that now, have you?😉

29 Responses to iTunes 9: “Genre-Artist-Album” panes restored

  1. […] list of unsorted tracks. Gee thanks. After some fiddling I got the 3-paned browser back (see my earlier blogpost) but the fiddling in the menus got me that “Windows” feeling of tweaking a crappy UI […]

  2. Andy Barnett says:

    Very helpful thanks!

  3. Stu C says:

    Thanks – exactly what I was looking for !!!!

  4. TC says:

    Cheers buddy – just what I was after! (c:

  5. Rudolf says:

    Thanks!!!! I really hated the new iTunes for not have my trusted way of browsing! I’m glad you helped me out.

  6. […] iTunes 9: “Genre-Artist-Album” panes restored « Rolfje’s bl… a few seconds ago from web in context […]

  7. Thank you so much ! I got mad with this new iTunes version…

  8. Jon says:

    Started iTunes, said WTF, googled” iTunes 9 artist list on top”, found this. And now everything is back to normal!

    Thanks!

  9. Gormley says:

    Cheers for that. I’m really getting tired of Apple messing with the format of iTunes. It seems like for every new version, I have to relearn the damn thing.

  10. deadguy says:

    I hate iTunes 9.0… iPhone forces me to use it. This helps but my columns are on the left of my library. How do I get them on top like in the screen above (ala winamp)

  11. rolfje says:

    Read carefully, it’s in my post. I admit it is cunningly hidden in the plethora of text…😉

  12. Jorge says:

    Thanks! I googled how to “fix” iTunes (I don’t know why Apple felt the need to mess with my favorite feature) and found your post. Great help!

  13. kansimies says:

    Just what I was looking for! Thank you!

  14. STeve Graham says:

    It is still there, they just switched it off.

    Go to grid view.

    Then click on the View Menu.

    Then hover over Grid View and you will see the option of show header.

    Voila, it is back

    Enjoy!

  15. roekone says:

    THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!! I was goin crazy with out that! Thank you, thank you!

  16. Preston Lee says:

    Perfect, thanks!

  17. dimple says:

    THANKYOU SO MUCH, I WAS GETTING VERY UPSET, BUT YOU HELPED. YAY FOR YOU

  18. Saved my sanity says:

    Yay! you really helped!

  19. Chris says:

    Thank you so much! I was frustrated so much, but you’ve made my day.

    Chris

  20. tina says:

    Exactly what i needed. Thank you VERY much.

  21. AllenH says:

    Thank you thank you thank you!!! 😀

  22. Ruth says:

    Yea! Thank you so much. Now why couldn’t iTunes have made that easy to find on a Help page?

  23. Guest says:

    THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  24. Niko says:

    Thanks so much! This was really helpful since I missed this panel too. Now it’s back😀

  25. Steven says:

    PERFECT!! I was hoping it was possible! And it is!🙂 Thanks!

  26. Scott says:

    Thank you, this has been bugging me for ages!

  27. Thomas says:

    Thanks A million man, such a great help, I was so disappointed when I upgraded and found this missing!

  28. Farmer John says:

    Exactly what I needed…

Leave a Reply

