We are Free! Free, I tell you!

iTunes iconRegular readers know that I’ve been ranting about the way  the music and movie industry are selling us crippled content, which actually feels like punishing you for honestly buying your digital content. Coincidentally, a month after that rant, Steve wrote a mail to the music industry in which he stated that DRM clearly was not working, and we needed to approach things differently.

A few months later, Apple and EMI actually started a new service in iTunes called iTunes plus, selling 256kbps DRM-free AAC files. If you’ve seen the latest Macworld 2009 Keynote Address by Philip (Phil) Schiller, you will have noticed that Apple hasn’t been sitting still. At the end of this quarter, all songs in the iTunes store will be available as DRM-free iTunes plus version. And there’s an easy button in iTunes which let’s you upgrade all your DRM-ed music automatically (payed, ofcourse). The link is in the iTunes Quick Links box, top right. I tried it, works fine.

Upgrade to iTunes Plus

Finally, your music will travel with you and play anywhere, just like those trusty CD’s did. Even better: with your iPhone you’re now able to buy music anywhere you are, because Apple has added 3G to the iTunes store on the iPhone.

2 Responses to We are Free! Free, I tell you!

  1. rolfje says:

    Wow. Google crawled this post within 2 minutes after posting and is already listing it within the first 2 pages on some of my searches. I was trying to find the original author of the “free I tell you” quote and was shocked to see my own blogpost hitting high 🙂

    I’m impressed.

  2. Joris says:

    Coincidence, you say? I think not! 🙂

Leave a comment